Metal Sludge

Metal Sludge

SPIDERS & SNAKES to Release Ninth Studio Album Feat. Members of YES, Fishbone, Wasp and Spock’s Beard




SPIDERS & SNAKES to Release Ninth Studio Album Feat. Members of YES, Fishbone, Wasp, Spock’s Beard and Appear at April 11th Benefit in Los Angeles

Los Angeles, CA

Hollywood rockers SPIDERS & SNAKES be releasing their 9th studio album worldwide on May 27th on the Sansei Records label. Entitled Year of the Snake, the album features guest appearances by Billy Sherwood (YES, CIRCA), Angelo Moore (FISHBONE), Rik Fox (WASP, STEELER), Ryo Okumoto (PHIL COLLINS, ARETHA FRANKLIN, SPOCK’s BEARD), Betsy Weiss (BITCH) amongst others.

Year of The Snake is the first Spiders & Snakes studio album release since 2008’s Melodrama on the Corporate Punishment label (distributed by E1 Entertainment) and features all four band members sharing lead vocal and song-writing duties. The multiple lead vocalists lends the disc a depth that separates it stylistically from previous efforts, which mainly featured Spiders & Snakes co-founder Lizzie Grey on lead vocals. The new album was recorded in the Chinese calendar “Year of The Snake” (2013-2014) at Steady Studios in Burbank, California with engineer Gavin Ross at the helm – just short of the band’s upcoming 25 year anniversary.

Founded in 1990 from the ashes of Grey’s previous outfit – the notorious London, which famously spawned the careers of Nikki Sixx (MOTLEY CRUE), Izzy Stradlin, Stephen Adler, Slash (GUNS n’ ROSES), Blackie Lawless (W.A.S.P.), Fred Coury (CINDERELLA) and Nigel Benjamin (MOTT THE HOOPLE) – SPIDERS & SNAKES immediately made their presence felt in their hometown of Hollywood by selling out venues on the Sunset Strip and the west coast with their SWEET meets T. REX meets MOTT THE HOOPLE musical influences and over-the-top stage shows with special effects, costumes and scantily-clad female dancers.

SPIDERS & SNAKES’ 1991 debut EP Arachnomania (released thru RED/SONY Distribution) charted in Japan and the U.K. on the import charts and the band never stopped, releasing Arachno II (1992), 2000 Retro (1993), Oddities: The Glitter Years (1995), Astro Pop (1997), London Daze (2000), Hollywood Ghosts (2005) and Melodrama (2008). During the rollercoaster ride of record deals that saw their catalog released by such labels as Rkd/RED, Rafr/FLIPSIDE, Cleopatra Records and Corporal Punishment Records- the band continued to tour and release music videos (two which aired on MTV in the 90s) and appear in B Films like ‘Vamps in the City”(MVD) and documentary films like ‘Hollywood Rocks’ (Cleopatra Films). Most recently, SPIDERS & SNAKES have been featured in the opening segment of the hit reality show “Ex-Wives of Rock” (FUSE TV).

Says Lizzie Grey – who co-founded the band with drummer and vocalist Tim Yasui – “we’re simply not has-beens since we never officially became mainstream”. Continues Grey “I realized that if you stick around long enough you eventually become somewhat relevant again”

“Year of The Snake” will be released on Digital Download, CD and Vinyl formats and a 25th Anniversary tour is in the works. SPIDERS & SNAKES will be appearing live at Paladinos, 6101 Reseda Blvd., Tarzana, CA on Friday, April 11th, 2014 for the annual “Rockers Against Trafficking” benefit featuring performances by HELMET, Dave Lombardo of SLAYER, Robert DeLeo from STONE TEMPLE PILOTS and members of W.A.S.P., QUIET RIOT and many more.


SPIDERS & SNAKES “Year Of The Snake” Track listing:

  1. Don’t Step Outta Line (feat. Angelo Moore from FISHBONE)
  2. Crazy
  3. Too Angry (feat. Angelo Moore from FISHBONE)
  4. Kawasaki City (feat. Ryo Okumoto from SPOCK’S BEARD, Betsy Weiss/BITCH)
  5. Neutron Baby
  6. Drive Me Crazy
  7. Over & Over Again
  8. Hey You
  9. Hello
  10. Ain’t Gonna Eat Out My Heart Anymore (feat. Rik Fox from W.A.S.P./STEELER, Betsy Weiss/BITCH)
  11. Digital Church (feat. Billy Sherwood from YES/CIRCA)

LISTEN TO THE FIRST SINGLE “Too Angry” from the SPIDERS & SNAKES album “Year Of The Snake”

Metal Sludge

Spiders N’ Sludge





Metal Sludge is not responsible for offensive comments. That said, you have no right to free speech on this site. This is our site, and we are not the United States government. We reserve the right to edit all comments, and to moderate all comment threads, as we see fit. Happy Sludging!